RSS Feed

Sorry, Sir, But We Can’t Heat Your Meat*


I’ve mentioned previously that I love sandwiches. Maybe I wouldn’t eat a sandwich every day, but I do love a stack of meat, some cheese, crisp veggies, drizzled with a bit of oil and a shake (or two) of pepper on a wheat bun (or roll or tortilla or flatbread)  at least once a week. Mmmm, mmmm, good.**

And my kids love sandwiches as well although they tend toward meat, bun, no frills, which is fine by me. However, they do prefer the sandwich to be grilled, toasted, heated up in some manner, and we’ve never had problems with that particular request.

Quiznos? They toast their sandwiches as matter of course.

Subway will pop the sandwich in the toaster oven as well if you ask.

Ditto Schlotsky’s and McAlister’s Deli.

Panera Bread will also as well as City Bites.***

But will Jersey Mike’s Subs?

Nope.

The reason given is because corporate says that it makes the meat less flavorful.

Huh?

So you have a grill, a huge one by the way, and its sole purpose is to fry up the steak, pepper, and onions for your  Philly Steak sandwiches? And the other meat that you use, the very same stuff used by Quiznos, Subway, Schlotsky’s, McAlister Deli, Panera Bread, and City Bites (among others)—a thin-sliced deli meat—will somehow be ruined because you’ve tossed it on the grill for a couple of minutes?

Right.

Maybe the steak should be served raw and cold as well. A buddy of mine told me years ago that flame just makes steak taste bad, at least if the steak wasn’t swimming in its own red juices.

I shudder at the image.

I always thought what made Jersey Mike’s sandwiches flavorful was the bread, not the ingredients, which are pretty much standard fare for nearly every sandwich shop I’ve ever been to. But I suppose I’m wrong to think that.

My choices, I guess, are to A) stop going to Jersey Mike’s and tell my kids to live with the disappointment or B) charge Jersey Mike’s every time I have to heat a sandwich at home for them.

The latter sounds good to me, but good luck collecting.

* Get your mind out the gutter. 🙂

** No, I’m not part of the Sandwich Generation. And I’ve never really understood the naming conventions for the generations:Sandwich, X, Y, Zippity Do Da.

***Well, some City Bites will while others won’t. I’m not sure but I think that the City Bites stores are owned independently and it’s up the individual owners as to what they’ll do. But don’t quote me on that because I haven’t done the research into it and don’t feel it need be done.

2 responses »

  1. Ahhhhh…the sad chef in me is crying a river and the angry chef wants to start a movement “Heat Darin’s Meat!” The humorist in my can’t stop laughing and the Research Monkey in me wants to know if Jersey Mike is actually from Jersey or homage to that idiotic reality show-“Fist pumping our way to better cold sandwiches.” Why you didn’t get your children to start chanting, “Heat Dad’s Meat” I will never know, but the shock and horror from those around should be worth a chuckle and a YouTube video.

    Reply
    • I am so glad I wasn’t drinking something when I read this. I hate spewing Dr. Pepper, or tea (iced or hot) or coffee (the devil’s drink, as you call it I believe), or well, actually ANYTHING through my nose. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

